Dutch Grand Prix Fun Facts: Did you know?

Dutch Grand Prix

  • During the pre-F1 era, Prince Bira won the first Grand Prix at the track in 1948, making him the only Thai driver to compete in Formula 1 until Alexander Albon made his debut in 2019 at the Australian Grand Prix.
  • Carel Godin de Beaufort and Gijs van Lennep were the only Dutch drivers to score a point in their home race during the track’s first stint on the calendar, finishing sixth in 1962 and 1973, respectively.
  • According to local legend, the infamous Tarzan Corner is a tribute to a man who would only give up his vegetable garden on the plot of land where the circuit was to be built if the track had a corner named after him.
  • Max Verstappen became the Netherlands’ first home winner at the 2021 Dutch Grand Prix. The country became the twelfth to have a home winner in Formula 1. It was the first time a new country had been added to that list since Fernando Alonso won his home race for the first time at the 2006 Spanish Grand Prix.
  • Jim Clark holds the record for most Dutch Grand Prix victories, with four victories at Zandvoort in 1963, 1964, 1965, and 1967.
  • The 1973 Dutch Grand Prix is also remembered for Roger Williamson’s terrible accident. After attempting to rescue Williamson from his burning wreck, David Purley was awarded the George Medal for bravery.
  • So far in Formula One history, the circuit has hosted 31 races. It ranks tenth on the all-time list of F1 circuits.
  • At Zandvoort, 52 different drivers have finished on the podium in 31 F1 races.
  • Jim Clark has led the most laps at Zandvoort, with 370. Alberto Ascari and Niki Lauda are second on the all-time list, having led 180 laps – nearly 200 fewer than Clark!
  • Lauda won his final Formula One race in 1985, the last Dutch Grand Prix until 2021.
  • Graham Hill finished on the podium for the first time in his career at the 1960 Dutch Grand Prix.
  • Zandvoort agreed to a three-year deal that originally ran from 2020 to 2022. Because the event could not take place in 2020 due to the coronavirus, it became a contract from 2021 to 2023.