Michael Masi lands new motorsport job in native Australia.

After leaving the FIA earlier this year, former Formula One racing director Michael Masi has found a new position in Australian motorsport.

Masi was thrust into the spotlight after the finale of the 2021 Formula One season, where controversial decisions to accelerate the safety car procedure had an impact on the final rounds of the season.

Following the fracas, Niels Wittich and Eduardo Freitas were appointed as the new race directors for 2022, replacing Masi, who had been dismissed as a result of the incident.

Before leaving the FIA earlier this year to return to his native Australia to take up the post of chairman of the SuperCars Commission, he was initially appointed to another position. Prior to his time in Formula 1, Masi had experience in Australian Supercars.

In addition to his current position at Supercars, the 44-year-old will take up a new position as a director on the board of Karting Australia in 2023.

Formula One 2023 race start times.

Event TrackDateRace start time (local)Race start time (UK)
Bahrain Grand PrixBahrain International Circuit5 March18:0015:00
Saudi Arabian Grand PrixJeddah Corniche Circuit19 March20:0017:00
Australian Grand PrixAlbert Park2 April15:0006:00
Azerbaijan Grand PrixBaku City Circuit30 April15:0012:00
Miami Grand PrixMiami International Autodrome7 May15:3020:30
Emilia-Romagna Grand PrixImola21 May15:0014:00
Monaco Grand PrixMonaco28 May15:0014:00
Spanish Grand PrixCircuit de Catalunya4 June15:0014:00
Canadian Grand PrixCircuit Gilles Villeneuve18 June14:0019:00
Austrian Grand PrixRed Bull Ring2 July15:0014:00
British Grand PrixSilverstone9 July15:0015:00
Hungarian Grand PrixHungaroring23 July15:0014:00
Belgian Grand PrixSpa-Francorchamps30 July15:0014:00
Dutch Grand PrixZandvoort27 August15:0014:00
Italian Grand PrixMonza3 September15:0014:00
Singapore Grand PrixSingapore17 September20:0013:00
Japanese Grand PrixSuzuka24 September14:0006:00
Qatar Grand PrixLosail International Circuit8 October17:0015:00
United States Grand PrixCircuit of the Americas22 October14:0020:00
Mexican Grand PrixAutodromo Hermanos Rodriguez29 October14:0020:00
Brazilian Grand PrixInterlagos5 November14:0017:00
Las Vegas Grand PrixLas Vegas Street Circuit18 November22:0006:00
Abu Dhabi Grand PrixYas Marina26 November17:0013:00